Assign Roles and Capabilities to a Concept

Assign capabilities to a concept through roles (per instance) or groups (all instances), and understand what each capability allows.

2 min read

On the concept configuration, under the User Rights tab:

  1. A role can be added and capabilities can be assigned to it. When a user is assigned to this role on an instance of the concept, they get the defined capabilities on this instance only.
  1. Groups can be assigned capabilities for each instance of the concept. Users in this group will get the defined capabilities on all instances of the concept.

Understand What Each Capability Allows

The different capabilities provided are:

CapabilityWhat it allows
CreateEnables you to create a new instance of the concept. This can be used to restrict creation of ideas or data to selected users.
ViewEnables you to view the data and information. This is essential for securing the data and restricting access to the concepts which are confidential to a specific department or team.
EditEnables you to make changes to existing concepts. It is crucial to maintain the integrity of the information.
DeleteEnables you to delete any instance. It is crucial to prevent information loss and only specific users can remove information.
Assign StakeholdersRoles assigned to concepts as managers or owners to give capabilities to roles and collaborators. They are usually the creators or principal actors of the project. (Able to edit)
Assign collaboratorsRoles assigned to concepts as participative users of the workflow that are not already part of the project. (Able to view)
Override workflowIf a workflow includes transitions, allows changing its status directly without executing the defined transitions.
Override collaboration workflowIf a collaboration workflow includes transitions, allows changing its status directly without executing the defined transitions.
Workflow rights can also be managed at the platform level using the platform capability Update workflows (if permissions) and Concept Workflows (configurable under Authorization). For more about workflows and their overrides, see Configure Workflow Fields.

Read more

Related articles

Was this page helpful?